Tags

, , ,

Meet the new Texan...

Well, the Texans did not get their first choice in Nnamdi Asomugha, but they sure got a good consolation prize.  Former Bengal CB Jonathan Joseph has agreed to a five-year deal with the Texans.  A tall and powerful CB, Joseph will bring some desperately needed talent to what was a truly awful passing defense last year.  Joseph had a pretty good season after having an outstanding 2009 season with 6 picks, and has many good seasons ahead of him (he’s only 27).  If Asomugha was a pipe dream, then the Texans did well in picking up the 2nd best CB available (in my opinion).

This also narrows down the Asomugha sweepstakes to the 49ers, Jets, and whoever else is in the running.  If I were a betting man (and I most certainly am), I’d be putting my money on the 49ers, who can likely offer the bigger contract (thank you Nate Clements).  In the end, I still think it’s about the money.

